Primordial Void About Releases Archive

Cucina Povera - Lumme

Buy CD $10 Buy MP3 $8 Buy WAV $8

Track Listing

  1. Sinisen ruusun tapaus (20:00)
  2. Maahan (3:15)
  3. Kullan (7:19)
  4. EKR (5:33)
  5. Eikä noussut (2:09)
  6. Pullo (5:05)
  7. Tuuli pajuissa (9:56)
  8. Aletaan (8:02)
  9. Terapiakukkaset (7:43)*

* CD exclusive bonus track

Release Date May 21, 2021
Catalog Number PV-18
Format CD / Digital

Lumme is the fourth album by Finnish sound artist and musician Maria Rossi (aka Cucina Povera). Recorded in Rotterdam, London, Luxembourg, and Glasgow, the release explores an eclectic range of styles over the course of its 60-minute runtime. Opening track “Sinisen ruusun tapaus,” a 20-minute improvised piece, stands as one of Rossi’s most accomplished works to date, combining transcendent organ drones with angelic, tremolo-tweaked vocals. Indeed, Rossi’s voice is Lumme’s driving force; her vocal performances on hymns such as “EKR” are technically stunning and emotionally powerful. The entire album is the work of a distinctively brilliant artist, one who takes ambient and choral music to interstellar heights.

Photo credit: Simon Forsythe